Professoren der Fachgruppe mit FAMOS ausgezeichnet

  Bild der Preisträger Copyright: © FRE

With the “FAMOS für Familie” award, RWTH Aachen each year honors executive personnel who have made particular efforts to support their staff in balancing work and family responsibilities.

University employees nominate their superiors for this award, and a jury selects the winners. The 14th award ceremony was recently held, albeit only virtually, to honor both the award winners of 2020 and 2021. RWTH Chancellor Manfred Nettekoven praised their commitment to ensuring that RWTH remains an attractive employer for excellent professionals. Professor Doris Klee, the Vice-Rector for Human Resources Management and Development, congratulated the honorees, who each received a certificate and 500 euros for a team activity.

The “FAMOS für Familie” award for 2020 was presented to six deserving winners. It went to Professor Carsten Bolm from the Institute of Organic Chemistry, Professor Thomas Gries, head of the Institut für Textiltechnik ITA, and Professor Cordula Neiberger, who heads the Economic Geography of Services teaching and research area at the Department of Geography. Professor Axel Preuße, holder of the Chair of Mine Surveying, Mining Subsidence Engineering and Geophysics in Mining, Professor Dirk Uwe Sauer from the Institute of Power Electronics and Electrical Drives, and Professor Michael Vorländer, holder of the Chair of Technical Acoustics, are also among the honorees.

In 2021, there are also six members of the RWTH community who have been recognized as “FAMOS für Familie”– or excellent advocates for families. Professor Elisabeth Clausen from the Institute for Advanced Mining Technologies, Rene M. Königs, junior professor for Organic Chemistry, and Professor Walter Richtering, holder of the Chair of Physical Chemistry II, were honored. Professor Rolf Rossaint from the Chair of Anesthesiology, Stephanie Vanderheijden, Managing Director in the Dean's Office of the Faculty of Civil Engineering, and Professor Jeremy Witzens, holder of the Chair of Integrated Photonics, were also happy to receive the award.

Source: RWTH